Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Product Releases
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Product Releases
Subject Topic: Update to Dundjinni v1.0.7 (PC version) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
jtolman3
Hero
Hero


Joined: 11/21/2010
Posts: 53
Posted: 10/10/2011 at 6:05pm | IP Logged Quote jtolman3

Eric of Ptolus wrote:
Wondering if you can simply create a file in that directory. Either open the "Run" dialog and type "cmd"
into the text field and hit "Return" or open it off the
"Accessories" menu.

Another "Classic" name for this is a "DOS Window".

Follow me ?


I have gone into the Dundjini area before and created new files before.
Back to Top View jtolman3's Profile Search for other posts by jtolman3
 
Eric of Ptolus
Legend
Legend


Joined: 06/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 521
Posted: 10/10/2011 at 6:26pm | IP Logged Quote Eric of Ptolus

Gotcha. Is there such a directory as C:\Program Files\
Dundjinni Enterprises ?

Can you create a new text file in it ? I cannot think
of why you could not. My registry also saves the install
directory in the format with the "~"'s in it.

Back to Top View Eric of Ptolus's Profile Search for other posts by Eric of Ptolus Visit Eric of Ptolus's Homepage
 
jtolman3
Hero
Hero


Joined: 11/21/2010
Posts: 53
Posted: 10/10/2011 at 6:36pm | IP Logged Quote jtolman3

there is I believe one showing in both the C:/Dundjinni enterprises and one in C:Program Files/Dundjinni Enterprises
Back to Top View jtolman3's Profile Search for other posts by jtolman3
 
Eric of Ptolus
Legend
Legend


Joined: 06/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 521
Posted: 10/10/2011 at 6:43pm | IP Logged Quote Eric of Ptolus

Yeah, I think the second one is the one it is trying (and
failing) to "install to". You *could* try seeing if you
can "uninstall" the old one (if it is there) and starting
"fresh" (no dundjinni entries in the registry, ...)
Back to Top View Eric of Ptolus's Profile Search for other posts by Eric of Ptolus Visit Eric of Ptolus's Homepage
 
jtolman3
Hero
Hero


Joined: 11/21/2010
Posts: 53
Posted: 10/10/2011 at 6:45pm | IP Logged Quote jtolman3

I thought I had and it seems like it created a new one in both places.. I will try again
Back to Top View jtolman3's Profile Search for other posts by jtolman3
 
jtolman3
Hero
Hero


Joined: 11/21/2010
Posts: 53
Posted: 10/10/2011 at 6:57pm | IP Logged Quote jtolman3

Okay the uninstaller worked to get rid of one but I am having issues removing the other..cause I can't access the unistaller.... says I need permission to preform this action but I should have it as the admin
Back to Top View jtolman3's Profile Search for other posts by jtolman3
 
Eric of Ptolus
Legend
Legend


Joined: 06/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 521
Posted: 10/10/2011 at 7:17pm | IP Logged Quote Eric of Ptolus

Somewhere, Bill Gates is cackling maniacally ...
Back to Top View Eric of Ptolus's Profile Search for other posts by Eric of Ptolus Visit Eric of Ptolus's Homepage
 
jtolman3
Hero
Hero


Joined: 11/21/2010
Posts: 53
Posted: 10/10/2011 at 7:56pm | IP Logged Quote jtolman3

okay so I changed the name of that file and reinstalled the DJ program in C: now the art pack went forward with installation but now seem s hung up saying "Writing Data
the installer is now recording add-on installation data"

it's been doing it for about 10 minutes now?
Back to Top View jtolman3's Profile Search for other posts by jtolman3
 
jtolman3
Hero
Hero


Joined: 11/21/2010
Posts: 53
Posted: 10/10/2011 at 8:48pm | IP Logged Quote jtolman3

I finally just canceled it... and it has the same issue as before... the Art Pack textures can not be seen only the color base.
Back to Top View jtolman3's Profile Search for other posts by jtolman3
 
Eric of Ptolus
Legend
Legend


Joined: 06/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 521
Posted: 10/11/2011 at 6:38pm | IP Logged Quote Eric of Ptolus

When it is just hanging like that, I really think
it is at the stage where it is trying to save your
installation keys to the registry, and you (whoever
you are when you log it; your account) don't have
permission to write to the registry.

I am convinced deep in the Java code the installer
is throwing some sort of SecurityException and not
catching it/handling it properly.

When you install can you right-click and install as
administrator ? Can you disable user access control
(UAC) on a Vista box ? I know you believe you have
administration "rights" on your computer but the
evidence leans the other way. (I also was hanging
at the end of the install until I figured out how
to disable UAC).

Back to Top View Eric of Ptolus's Profile Search for other posts by Eric of Ptolus Visit Eric of Ptolus's Homepage
 

<< Prev Page of 28 Next >>
  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.5156 seconds.
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.